Family Law

A Free Service Provided By www.FactsOfLaw.com
Home

 


Marriage License
 

Legal Topics

Arbitration and Mediation
Bankruptcy
Bextra
Car Accidents
Celebrex
Child Support
Child Custody & Visitation

Copyright Law
Criminal Law
Dangerous Drugs
Death
Divorce
DUI Drunk Driving

Elderly Laws
Employees' Rights
Estate Planning
Family Law
Fen-Phen
Immigration Law

Lawsuits
Lemon Law
Marriage
Medical Malpractice
Megan's Law
Meridia
Mesothelioma & Asbestos

Mold
Probate & Estates
Product Recalls
Real Estate

Statute of Limitations

Taxes & the IRS
Traffic Violations
Vioxx
Wills
Workers' Compensation
Work Related Injury

Privacy Policy

Contact Us

About Us

 
Facts - Books - News    U.S. Facts Of Law:


Marriage License

Before a couple can be married in the United States they must obtain a marriage license from their local jurisdiction.  The license grants permission for the couple to enter into a legal marriage.  Although the standards of marriage are universal throughout the U.S., states have different requirements for obtaining the marriage license.

Marriage without a license is possible either through common law marriage, where permitted, or by obtaining a state pardon for entering into marriage without a license.  Common law marriage can automatically befall couples in some states states.

After the marriage license has been issued and the marriage ceremony performed, the license is signed by both parties to the marriage and the official performing the marriage and returned to the state which then issues a marriage certificate acknowledging the marriage.

Below are the requirements each state needs before a marriage license can be issued.

 

State Required age Cost of license Waiting period between
applying & receiving license
Waiting period to marry after receiving license

License valid for

Blood test required
Alabama 18 yrs $25 none none 30 days yes
Alaska 18 yrs $25 3 days none 90 days no
Arizona 18 yrs $50 none none 1 year no
Arkansas 18 yrs $35 none none 60 days no
California 18 yrs $50-80 none none 90 days no
Colorado 18 yrs $20 none none 30 days no
Connecticut 18 yrs $30 none none 65 days yes
Delaware 18 yrs $30 none 1 day if resident 30 days no
District Columbia 18 yrs $35 3 days none n/a yes
Florida 18 yrs $88.50
$56 if couple takes 4hr course
none 3 days (Florida
residents only)
60 days no
Georgia 18 yrs $30 average none none n/a yes
Hawaii 18yrs $50 none none 30 days no
Idaho 18yrs $28 none none 1 year yes
Illinois 18yrs $15-30 none 1 day 60 days no
Indiana 18 yrs $18 none none 60 days yes
Iowa 18 yrs $30 3 days none 20 days no
Kansas 18 yrs $50 3 days none 6 months no
Kentucky 18 yrs $34 3 days none 30 days no
Louisiana 18 yrs $25 none 3 days 30 days yes
Maine 18 yrs $20 3 days none 90 days no
Maryland 18 yrs $35 2 days none 6 months no
Massachusetts 18 yrs $4 3 days none 60 days yes and medical certificate
Michigan 18  yrs $20 3 days none 33 days no
Minnesota 18 yrs $70 5 days none 6 months no
Mississippi 21 yrs $20 3 days none 90 days yes
Missouri 18 yrs $50 3 days none 30 days no
Montana 18 yrs $30 none none 180 days yes
Nebraska 19 yrs $15 none none 1 year no
Nevada 18 yrs $35 none none 1 year no
New Hampshire 18 yrs $45 3 days 3 days 90 days no
New Jersey 18 yrs $28 3 days none 30 days no
New Mexico 18 yrs $25 none none 1 year no
New York 18 yrs $25-30 none 1 day 60 days no
North Carolina 18 yrs $40 none none 60 days no
North Dakota 18 yrs $35 none none 60 days no
Ohio 18 yrs $30 5 days none 60 days no
Oklahoma 18 yrs $25 none none 30 days yes
Oregon 18 yrs $60 3 days none 60 days no
Pennsylvania 18 yrs $25-40 3 days none 60 days no
Rhode Island 18 yrs $24 none none 90 days no
South Carolina 18 yrs $25 1 day none n/a no
South Dakota 18 yrs $40 none none 20 days no
Tennessee 18 yrs $31-39 none none 30 days no
Texas 18 yrs $31 none 72 hours 30 days no
Utah 18 yrs $40 none none 60 days no
Vermont 18 yrs $20 none 1 day 60 days no
Virginia 18 yrs $20 none none 60 days no
West Va 18 yrs $23 none 3 days 60 days yes
Washington 18 yrs $51 3 days none 60 days no
Wisconsin 18 yrs $50-80 6 days none 30 days no
Wyoming 18 yrs $25 none none n/a no

 

 

Marriage License Best Sellers from Amazon.com

(no title)

 

Newsfeed display by CaRP

Marriage License News
GN News

This RSS Feed URL Is Deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news

Man Denied Marriage License By Kim Davis Loses Primary Bid, Will Not Face Her...
Lexington Herald Leader Man denied marriage license by Kim Davis loses primary bid, will not face her in fall Lexington Herald Leader Despite raising more than 200,000 for his Rowan County Clerk campaign, David Ermold, the man who was denied a marriage license by current county clerk Kim Davis, lost the Democratic primary by more than 1,000 votes Tuesday evening. The victor Gay Man Denied Marriage License by Kim Davis Loses Bid to Challenge Her for Kentucky County ClerkshipTIME PRIMARY 2018 Man denied same sex marriage license loses bid to challenge Kim Davis in NovemberSpectrum News Gay man who was denied marriage license by Kim Davis loses TheBlaze.com The Independent The Edwardsville Intelligencer all 22 news articles raquo

Race That Includes Gay Man Denied Marriage License By Kim Davis Gets Lots Of ...
WVXU Race That Includes Gay Man Denied Marriage License By Kim Davis Gets Lots Of Attention WVXU Davis is the woman who wouldn39t grant him and his now husband their marriage license three years ago. Media attention is affecting all four candidates in the county race. It39s a Tuesday afternoon in the town of Morehead, Kentucky. Blue and white signs

Kim Davis Challenger: Man Whose Marriage License She Denied Kankakee Daily J...
Kankakee Daily Journal Kim Davis challenger: Man whose marriage license she denied Kankakee Daily Journal In this 2015 file photo, Rowan County Clerk Kim Davis, right, talks with David Moore following her office39s refusal to issue marriage licenses at the Rowan County Courthouse in Morehead, Ky. One of the men who was denied is now trying to claim the Race for County Clerk Including Gay Man Denied Marriage License by Kim Davis gets lots of AttentionWKMS Race for County Clerk Including Gay Man Denied Marriage License WEKU all 3 news articles raquo

Kim Davis Denied His Marriage License. Will Voters Let Him Try To Oust Her L...
Lexington Herald Leader Kim Davis denied his marriage license. Will voters let him try to oust her Lexington Herald Leader With the primary election just days away, Rowan County clerk candidate David Ermold walked through his campaign office and joked that the bags under his eyes have grown darker by the day. I noticed it in a picture I took this morning, Ermold said. I and more raquo

IMPORTANT NOTICE: This webpage is Copyrighted content.  No portion of this page may be copied to any other webpage, forum, blog or other domain page or offline publication without written permission from FactsOfLaw.com. Violators will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.

The information provided by FactsOfLaw.com does not constitute legal advice or any other type of advice and is provided for educational purposes only without warranty of any kind. FactsOfLaw.com has not reviewed the information on this page for accuracy and is not responsible for any errors, omissions or inaccuracies.  For legal advice you should consult a licensed attorney.

 

Copyright All Rights Reserved - FactsOfLaw.com
No Portion of This Page May Be Copied Without Written Permission

Facts of Law about obtaining a marriage license

Facts of Law - Marriage License